5 things to keep in mind in 2016

Hey! So today I’m doing something different. Typically I’m not a big fan of new year’s resolutions. I tend to find it a bit corny and it makes me anxious just thinking about making plans and wishes. This year however, I decided to go ahead and do it. Why not give it a try at least? So here we go: these are my 5 things to keep in mind in 2016…

001. Do more of what makes you happy

Because we only live once (super cheesy, but true). So in 2016 I want to attend more concerts, visit places around me I’ve never been before, watch more movies and tv shows and re-discover old habits – and passions – such as reading and writing.

002. Surround yourself with good people

And by that I mean whoever makes you happy, really. I want to laugh loads, be as supportive as I can and show people how much I appreciate them. I want to strengthen some family relationships; it’s definitely time for that.

003. Be healthy

Be, not get: that’s what I have to keep in mind because after all, it should be a lifestyle and not a spur-of-the moment thing. I want to drink more water and exercise. No pressure though, it’s ok to have cravings or not want to move at all sometimes. It should be all about balance!

004. Work hard

In 2015 I finally found a study method that works for me and helps keep my laziness at bay. Also, 2015 marks the year I got signed with a local agency. It’s more of a part time job if anything, but I’ve been able to make some money already and be a little more financially independent. In 2016, I want to keep things going.

005. Love yourself

You gotta do that. Not worry so much about every little thing – grades, appearance, the money I’m spending, regrets, things I should be doing but am not, near future, long-term future. The truth is- most of us are so lucky and privileged to live the life we do. I need to appreciate things more and there’s no need to be complicated all the /damn/ time. At the same time, it’s important to always strive to become a better human being, so be nice, kind, tolerant and respectful.

And one more thing! I want to end this post with one of my favorite quotes I found:

So what? You failed your finals. You gained some weight. So what? You’re single again. You lost your job. So what? What now? You live. You try again. That’s what.

Cheers, guys! See you next week x

Marta

Leave a Reply

