5 Authors to Discover

Hey hey hey! I decided like it’s time to talk about my favourite thing in the entire world – books. Everyone knows I’m a complete bookworm and I’m always trying to discover new books and authors and during my reading I’ve been making a list about some of my favourite authors. Now here it is and I hope you guys find it useful in case you want to read something but you don’t know what!

The Surrealistic

Haruki Murakami: he’s japanese and is currently the best seller author in Japan. His books have been translated into 50 languages and has won several awards. His works are considered as fiction, surrealism, magical realism, and bildungsroman. I’ve read Norwegian Wood from this author and his writing is absolutely stunning, as well as the development of his peculiar characters.

To recommend: Kafka on the Shore, 1Q84, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

The Contemporary

Michael Cunningham: he’s an american novelist and has one several awards too, like Pulitzer. He’s also a senior lecturer of creative writing. I’ve only read a book from him but it was enough to admire his work and his gentleness when it comes to create a story.

To recommend: The Hours, The Snow Queen

The Romantic

Cecilia Ahern:Cecilia is irish and is my favourite romance and chick lit novelist. Athough they’re not the next nobel prize books, she does inspire the reader and makes us have a pleasant trip during the reading experience. I’ve gone from laughing out loud to crying with her books and they are all suited to all the seasons (am I the only one that has specific authors for the seasons? Like, Dickens is Winter, that’s for sure).

To recommend: P.s. I Love You, If you could see me now, Love,Rosie

The Fiction Woman

Anita Shreve: Anita’s american and is almost 70 years old, yet she’s still writing great novels to us (an applause right here!). I really like her writing and the way she’s so realistic and almost cruel. It’s a good choice if you want to read something light and summer-ish that isn’t chick lit. Warning: not all her book endings are happy endings!

To recommend: Fortune’s Rock, Resistance, The Pilot’s Wife

The Goth

Cormac McCarthy: No, Cormac isn’t goth but he’s work definitely is. His genre can be described as southern gothic and pos-apocalyptic. While this doesn’t seem that appellative to most readers, he does explore these genres in a very interesting way – he tries to gives us a moral lesson by showing us a dystopia. I really want to read more from McCarthy and to discover more from him.

To recommend: All the Pretty Horses, Suttree, The Road

And that is all for today’s post! I hope you guys found this post useful and that it made you more curious about these authors 😉 If you have read anything from these novelists, comment down bellow!

xx

angie

3 thoughts on “5 Authors to Discover

Leave a Reply

