The Bookclub – May

Hey there painters and welcome to a new edition of The Bookclub! I have to confess I was rather undecided this time, since I really didn’t knew what to pick. The last book I read was The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I decided it would be better to talk a little bit about this book.

The Great Gatsby, F.Scott Fitzgerald 4/5

Here’s a secret – the portuguese translation sucks. I read this book years ago and hated it so much! I didn’t understood why so many people enjoyed it since most of the characters were annoying and had terrible speeches.But now since I read the original one, I’m completely in love with the story! The historicity of this book is absolutely gorgeous (Chicago; New York; Consumism; the wild 20’s), the characters are so well described that you can see them in from of you. In the end? (totally spoiler here) The Wilder, The Fool and The American Dreamer died. Totally worth your time!

Sofia

May is, in my opinion, a great month for poetry! And that is exactly why I chose two poetry books by the same author, Alice Vieira: “Dois Corpos Tombando na Água” and “Os Armários da Noite”. Although they’re written in Portuguese and you might not all be able to read them, I really had to share this author’s poetry. It’s so beautiful and yet very unpretentious, almost organic in the way she uses spaces as punctuation or common household items or scenarios as deep expressions of emotional realities. Both works have a nuanced, melancholic pain showing up in the background of the poem’s messages, usually referring to some form of lost love. I also see myself in that, because I think that feeling of loss and the bitter sweetness of goodbye is something we can all, in one way or another, relate to. We’ve all had to let go of dreams, hopes or maybe even other people in the course of our lives, and that sorrow needs to be expressed, but with acknowledging it also comes freedom and the feeling of being ready for a new stage in our lives. There really isn’t anything I dislike about Vieira’s poems and, if by any chance you ever get to read them, make sure you do! You won’t regret it and, who knows, maybe you’ll feel as inspired as I do once I get through these books!

Luísa & Paulo

The book we chose this month is Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë. It’s about Jane, an orphan child who was raised by her aunt and her cousins. She was always treated badly and one day she is sent to a boarding school. There is where she meets her master, Mr. Rochester, and falls in love with him. However, some strange events happen and she is forced to leave to pursue her future.
We chose this book because it is a “to read before death” book and we wanted to read it since ever, since it is a classic.

Leave a Reply

