DIY: Gold polka dot phone wallet

Hello, painters!

So, if you’ve been paying attention, you’ve already noticed me writing about having a new phone. I finally have an Android, and I couldn’t be more excited about it!

But to protect that lovely new phone, I had to get some sort of case. I really don’t like the idea of having the phone slip in and out of pockets with zippers, or going into messy bags, or being put somewhere with my keys by accident – and ending up all scratched and ruined. No, sir, not on my watch!

The problem is this phone model isn’t exactly the most common one. It’s definitely not an IPhone or a Samsung Galaxy, it’s a Vodafone Smart 4 Turbo. Have you ever heard of it? Yeah, I didn’t think you would have! So I decided to look online and ask for a friend to use their PayPal Account to help me out (what else are friends for, anyway?).

I found just what I was looking for: it was a black synthetic leather phone wallet, that would not only protect the screen with the flip cover, but would also hold my subway monthly pass, so I didn’t have to worry about losing it anymore. My friend ordered it for me and it was super cheap! Counting shipping costs, it was only about 8€. It also came in great condition, it’s very sturdy and exactly what I was expecting. Anyway, here is the wallet:

Now, I chose it in black because I only liked one other color – the red one, but then I thought that would look too bright and I’d rather have something more discreet. So I went for black! I never actually regretted that, but I did think it looked very simple and plain, and I always want my things to be very personalized. What did I decide to do? Gold polka dots, of course!

4

The DIY plan was pretty simple: I took a few ring reinforcements I had laying around and my all-purpose gold paint (which cost me 5€ like 4 or 5 years ago, can you imagine that? I’ve been using it ever since, best craft investment ever!).

Then I just laid out the little circular reinforcement stickers and used them as a stencil of sorts. I painted each of them carefully with the gold paint, let it dry and then took off the ring reinforcements one by one. It’s a bit of a repetitive job, but it really does work! Just make sure you have good quality paint on your hands. Mine peeled off a little bit on the central fold, because of all the wear and tear, but I actually like that look, it makes it look less perfect and bit more vintage! 😉

Here’s some more pictures of the results!

That is it for this week, painters! Hope you enjoyed this easy DIY personalization post!

Stay awesome,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

