DIY: Arm knitting scarf

Hello, painters!

I’m here today to share with you a beautiful art: arm knitting! Here’s what the arm knitted scarf I made (for Ângela’s bday!) looks like:

arm knitted scarf (1)

Now, you may have heard of regular knitting, correct? You use the needles to knit the yarn. Well, my friends, those needles are now obsolete! Okay, okay, maybe not totally obsolete… But doesn’t arm knitting sound so much more fun than needlework? There’s also another advantage… It’s so much faster! It may take you about half an hour to get the routine right, but once you do, you’ll have that scarf ready in another 30 minutes! Whereas, had you knitted the scarf with those “obsolete” needles, it would have taken you a few hours at the very least.

Okay, but how do you get the routine right? The truth is I wouldn’t have been able to record a good video tutorial for you, so I’m going to post the two videos I used to learn. About any questions you may have: that is what the comment section is here to do! Ask me anything you need to know about this and I’ll do my best to help you.

This first tutorial is a great place to start and Maggie, the vlogger, is incredibly sweet! Se runs a blog called Simply Maggie.

I also used this tutorial from Michaels Store, just to help me with some of my doubts.

As you can probably tell from the videos, the process of arm knitting is quite fun and so much easier to learn than regular knitting. The outcomes are also lovely and very warm, but make sure you get a really, really thick yarn! For Ângela’s present, I used a yarn that looked thick in the store, but when I started working on it, I realized it wasn’t nearly thick enough! So that is my only regret with this DIY, the rest of the project was a great experience.

Here are some more photos:

arm knitted scarf arm knitted scarf (2)

I really hope you enjoyed this DIY as much as I did!

Stay awesome,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

